Saving for a Coveted Item #1

Learning to discern the difference of a need and a want is crucial when it comes to saving for something that you truly, absolutely, undoubtedly cannot live without. I go shopping a lot and when I say a lot, I mean A LOT. There was a time, not that long ago, that I was spending recklessly trying to keep up with the things that I wanted and not focusing on what I truly needed. It is so easy to get caught up in trends and have no regard that you are jeopardizing the security of your wallet or bank account.  I learned quickly that saving to buy things that I want is better than impulse buying. Impulse buying usually comes with regret. I created a thought process I have to control myself when I go to the store. Mind you, I am not running around the mall or boutiques like I have rabies. It is just so easy to spend money without thinking about it twice.

I ask myself a few questions after staring at an item for so long.

  • How versatile is this?- Meaning how many ways can I wear this item and do I have things already in my closet that go with such item.

Okay, to me, having versatile items in your closet is essential to creating a wardrobe. If you have a whole bunch of things that can only be worn on certain occasions or with one other clothing item than, honey, you are not helping yourself. I am not saying that you can’t buy a dress to go to a party or shoes to go solely with that dress but when you buy something think of how versatile it is.

  • Is this item available online?

I ask myself this question because I don’t want to feel like I have to leave the store with that particular item. More often than not I can find what I am lusting after online and, if I am really lucky, at a lower price.

  • Is it worth it?

Even though everyone around you has the item, is it worth it to you? There have been countless times where I see something that a friend has and I get it and think “Hmm, not exactly what I was expecting…”. What works for one person may not work for you and vice versa.

If you think you can’t save, trust me, you can.

A few ways to save:

  • Start with the loose change at the bottom of your purse, backpack, or couch. Change is still money my friends.
  • Decide that you are going to put X amount of dollars away each time you get money. (My X amount started at $5 because I felt like it wouldn’t hurt to save that much. Now my X amount is $50)
  • Let your closest friends know you are saving. Trust me they will ridicule you if you even think about buying something not needed.
  • Cut out excess spending. Do you need to eat out? Do you need that coffee? (You will be surprised how much you save this way)
  • Know that saving is not only great for items you want, but for emergencies as well.

wishlist

This is a snapshot of the items I have been been wanting and not needing (trust me, there is more). If I were to order these all right now, that would be a fairly large bill. ($330 to be exact)

  • Patent Leather Ruby Red Tieks $195, I have a pair of black ones that are matte and believe you me they are worth the money.
  • Naked Palettes $50 each
  • Dior Nail Glow $24
  • Dior Addict Lip Glow $31
  • Dior Addict Gloss $30

What are some things that you save for? Have you recently purchased any of those items?

X’s and O’s

4 thoughts on “Saving for a Coveted Item #1

  1. I love the fact that you are actually advocating saving instead of the SPEND, SPEND, SPEND mentality that a lot of bloggers seem to advertise. I saved up for one of the Naked 1 palette, and I think it was definitely worth the money. It’s a good palette, though there isn’t a whole lot of matte shades, which kind of makes me also want the basics palette they sell. I was currently saving for the Nars concealer everyone raves about, but I think I might be putting that on hold for a 30-day rock climbing membership that I am going to go for. Don’t get me wrong, I love makeup, but spending on fun experiences/trips is always more worth it to me in the end. 🙂

    • Yes, I agree with you. Right now we are saving for our son’s 5th birthday and a summer trip. Those two things are more important than having the latest makeup item or fashion piece. Yes, I have heard the naked palettes are worth it but once I save money I think of other things. Thanks so much for your thoughts! Rock climbing sounds like so much fun!!!

      • lol. I agree. Once I get to the point of actually being able to buy the thing I was saving for, half of the time I’m just like, yeah…I’d rather get something else. 😉

      • I totally understand. Oh, by the way, if you are looking for a good matte palette. Stila’s “in the know” palette is good and it cost about $35 (I think..) I got it at Sephora.

Leave a Reply

