NYX HD Finishing Powder vs. Makeup Forever HD Microfinishing Powder

About 6 months ago I received a sample size of Makeup Forever’s HD Microfinish Powder and it quickly became an item I used everyday. Last week, to my disappointment, I noticed there was hardly any powder left in the jar. I thought to myself “No big deal, I will swing by Sephora and pick some up” right?!?! WRONG!!! They wanted $34 for 0.3 oz jar and $16 for the 0.17 oz jar. To me, that is a lot of money for a finishing powder. Don’t get me wrong, I splurge on certain products and all though I consider this one of my “holy grail products” the price is steep. It came down to the fact that I didn’t want to splurge on it and I don’t feel like a silica mineral powder should be that pricey.

So I became a beauty detective, and I found NYX HD Finishing Powder which is the EXACT same product (with very similar packaging) at a more than reasonable price.

NYX HD Powder

NYX Finishing Powder cost $10

 

The packaging is almost identical. When I found this I had to double take because of how similar they are. The NYX jar has a bit more product in it than the sample size of MUF does and the price is reasonable.

If you are concerned about the ingredients, have no fear!!! Both products contain 100% Silica Mineral Powder. NYX does offer this powder in different colors to match your skin tone but I just picked up the transparent one.

NYX hd powder 2 NYX hd powder 3

  NYX hd powder 4NYX hd powder 6

I recommend this product not only because of the low price but because of the quality as well. NYX has always been good at offering quality items at low prices. As I acquire more items to my beauty arsenal I realized instantly that it takes a lot of money to invest in quality makeup products. I am learning that the brands that have been dubbed “drugstore brands” create quality products and that sometimes they may even be better.

If you are interested in purchasing NYX Finishing Powder, you can find it here .

Have you found any “high end products” at a more reasonable price? If so, what did you find?

X’s and O’s

6 thoughts on “NYX HD Finishing Powder vs. Makeup Forever HD Microfinishing Powder

  1. THanks to you I am now in love with NYX products and they finally launched a month ago here :))
    I will give this one a try, but my favorite transparent pressed powder is the one of Dita Von Teese for ArtDeco … I swear by it and I have to buy myself a new one 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

