Affordable Beauty Tips

Makeup and beauty products can take a nice size portion of the money you earn…

Let’s be realistic, everyday there is a new beauty product that appears on the market that claims to be a “must have” that is better than all the rest. The beauty industry is easily a multi-billion dollar industry. It is easy to believe that fact when you have facial and makeup products going for $50 and up. It is safe to say that not everyone can afford to spend that kind of money on a regular basis on a product they simply want to try out.

I thought of a few tips to help make your beauty bill a little more manageable…

  • Research. Before trying a product research it. Read all the reviews that you can. It will be easy to realize if a product is worth the money or not when reading peoples reviews. There have been times where I want to try something out and I head to my fellow bloggers blogs and see if any of them have tried it. If I notice a trend of a product being “so-so” than I probably won’t rush out to buy. Reading reviews helps curb my urge to just go out and buy a product simply to try it.
  • Realize that what does wonders for one person may not do wonders for you. I am guilty of this. I will read a review or watch a YouTube video and I think “I need that product in my life…”. So what do I do? I go out and buy the product. I try it and than I am let down. Who is to blame? No one but myself. It really is a let down when people are raving about a product and you finally get your hands on it and it is not at all what you expected. I have to remind myself that what works for others will not necessarily work for me.
  • Ask for samples. If there is a product that I am seriously wanting but I am still unsure of whether it is worth the money or not, I ask for a sample. I don’t think drug stores have samples but I know that major department stores like Macy’s or Sephora and Origins will provide you with samples if you ask. The main reason I will ask for a sample is because I would like to see how a product will react with my skin. I don’t want to invest $40 in a facial cream if it is going to cause my skin to break out.

Sample sizes

  • Shop at a store that you can try out products. Sephora, MAC, Ulta, Origins etc. they all allow you to try on product. However, I must stress the IMPORTANCE of properly sanitizing any product before you try it on. A lot of people go through these stores and try on everything and anything. Sanitize, sanitize, sanitize. Do not, I repeat, DO NOT just pick up a lipstick, eyeshadow or whatever and try it on. SANITIZE IT. If you don’t know how, ask the consultant to do it for you.
  • Get a beauty subscription. There are a lot of beauty subscription programs out there such as Ipsy, Birchbox, Glossy Box, Julep, etc. They can range anywhere from $10 to $35 a month. A beauty subscription is a program that you sign up for and they send you deluxe size samples or full size products. Some of the subscriptions are monthly, some are every three months, and others may only be quarterly. The thing I love about beauty subscriptions are that you are able to try products you may not thinking of trying. I am currently subscribed to Ipsy and it cost $10 a month and I feel I get more than my $10 worth every month.

ipsy bag august

August Ipsy bag came with: Noya lip balm, Pacifica multi-mineral BB cream, Pixi lash booster mascara, and Michael Todd jojoba charcoal facial scrub. All for $10 a month.

  • Start at the drugstores. Drug store brands can be just as good as the higher end brands. My dear friend Donna of The Beauty Holder really made it a point, when I was searching for brow items, to start off with drugstore brands. They are cheaper and it allows you to perfect your craft before you invest in more expensive products that you may not really know how to use.
  • Clearance can be your best friend. When I walk into Sephora (okay, any store really) the first place I look is the clearance section. More often than not, they have a lot of great products that are on clearance. I have found quite a few of my favorite products on the clearance shelves. There is nothing wrong with buying something on clearance my friends.

 

What are your affordable beauty tips? Please share in the comments below!

 X’s and O’s

One thought on “Affordable Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

