Sitting with a Star

Sitting down and getting real with Edie, the creator of Star Crushed Minerals…

Edie

This is Edie, the creator of Star Crushed Minerals. (The woman that hand mixes and grinds all the beautiful products you see in her shop)

star crushed minerals interview 2

A few looks I have done with Star Crushed Minerals. There are many more, believe you me.

What inspired you to create star crushed minerals?

The inspiration for creating mineral makeup came from my need to have and use something that would not cause me to break out or have a reaction. I tried EVERYTHING on the market and nothing seemed to work. So, I started to make my own makeup…Star Crushed Minerals came about after my hubby had his jewelry shop (Concrete Star Designs)  on Etsy for about a year. Friends & family who I gave the makeup to would say ‘you should sell this’… so we decided to give it a try.

What did you do before you founded Star Crushed Minerals? Do you ever miss it?

I used to work for the public school system… I miss the people I used to work with but am really enjoying doing my own thing.  To be honest, working for myself is more work than having a ‘boss’ because at the end of the day I used to be able to leave work and go home. Working from home, for myself makes for no set hours. Doing something that involves customer service such as having this shop makes it so that I am always with one eye on the computer screen and the other on everything else! 🙂

All your products are hand-made. Did you teach yourself to make the products or did someone guide you along the way?

When I started to make mineral cosmetics for myself I did online research, found recipes online, in books and I asked questions of anyone and everyone who would give me a minute to bend their ear!  I researched ingredients and their benefits, which to avoid and where to purchase them.  I have this little tattered composition book where I keep all of my recipes and blends for each eyeshadow, blush and foundation that is in the shop today.

How long does it take you to make the products we see in your shop?

I don’t have products sitting in jars on a shelf…I make each batch by hand just prior to packaging it.  Depending on how many orders I do at once and how many items have been purchased it can take anywhere from 1 – 3 hours.  That’s just putting them in jars.  That doesn’t include labeling and sorting into the individual orders…

What has been your least favorite part of creating make up and what has been the most rewarding?

The creative process of making new colors/shades is always fun…even though some combinations don’t make the shop. I have thoroughly enjoyed the interactions with the customers and it’s still humbling to know that people choose to purchase something I’ve created so I strive to always put the best product out there to them.
The least favorite part of this endeavor has not been anything regarding the creative process – I got a hard introduction into how ugly the beauty world can be when an anonymous person saw fit to spread untrue information about myself and my shop to a lot of people I had interacted with on FB.  They spread lies and used scare tactics to dissuade them from continuing to work with me and my shop- fortunately it didn’t work. The most offensive part of it all is that they stated they have been “keeping an eye” on me since I started… I just couldn’t wrap my head around the whole situation.  

Where do you find inspiration to create the beautiful colors we see in your shop?

As you can tell by the name of the shop, outer space/the universe is a big inspiration. My husband and I are big on the stars and planets…and VanGogh!  Nature is a huge inspiration… the simple color shifts in a flower or a piece of fruit can inspire colors and obviously names for the products.

I know that you are two- Etsy shop home. Do your husband and you ever get into competitions about who sells the most?

The products in our shops are on two different planes… he inspires me with his creativity while at the same time we are each other’s biggest cheerleader. (Did I just call my husband a cheerleader??)  The key to our two-Etsy home is to respect each other and our respective talents.  

 

You are a mother, wife, business woman, and everything in between. How do you find balance between everything?

I prioritize. I am completely loving the shop endeavor but it’s always family first.  The reason I have increased my turn around time is two-fold. One, I have more orders than I did at the beginning, also, being that I do make each and every product myself I need the time in order to do the work. Two and most importantly, I have to be able to put the ‘work down’ to tend to my family obligations.   I make a schedule and try to stick to it – not that it always goes as planned.  I suppose the best way to get through it all is to be flexible and not sweat the little things.

You create eye shadow, foundation, blush, and nail polish. Can we look forward to any new additions to your shop?

I am working on a line of lip glosses… maybe lipsticks. As I continue to learn and grow I hope to expand my horizons.  

 

Do you have any beauty tips or secrets you would like to share?

I tried to think of something witty to say here but I was afraid it would all sound cliche… so I thought I’d share one of my favorite quotes:


“For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.  For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.  For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.  For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.  For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone.  People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms. As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.”

-Sam Levenson

I am happy and blessed to know such an amazing woman! I would like to thank Edie for taking the time to do this interview with me and also for supporting me since this blog was just an idea in my head!!

Please visit Star Crushed Minerals trust me, you will be entranced by all the pretty things!!

 

2 thoughts on “Sitting with a Star

Leave a Reply

