From Shea Moisture: Black Soap & Skin Healing Elixir

Do you shave?

I don’t have a lot of body hair but I do shave my legs, armpits, and bikini area regularly. Every once in awhile I will get an ingrown hair or razor bump which are not comfortable and they really aren’t fun to look at. I am more prone to razor bumps and ingrown hairs when it comes to my bikini area and that is the worst possible place to have them. I have tried a few products that say they will eliminate “Ingrown hairs” or “Unsightly razor bumps” and none of those products actually did what they said.  I wanted something that would help my skin heal.

When you shave (or wax or thread or whatever) any area of your body, you are opening up the pores. When you have open pores you are more prone to bacteria which can cause infections.

So how do I handle shaving? (I make it sound so ritualistic)

1) Never, ever, ever do I shave my skin while it is dry. That is just asking for razor burn, razor bumps, ingrown hairs and everything else unsightly and painful.

2) Prior to shaving I exfoliate my skin with black soap and a sea foam sponge.

african black soap

I recommend this soap to anyone and everyone. Why? 1) I absolutely love Shea Moisture products!! If you haven’t tried any of their products, try some because they are amazing!! 2) Because it is not harsh on your skin and if you do have problematic skin or acne prone skin it can help clear it up and prevent it from happening. I purchased this at Wal-Mart for $4.78 and the size of this bar of soap will last you quite some time.

3) I don’t have a special razor but I am very picky about my shaving cream. I use EOS shave cream. I like EOS shave cream because it is an actual cream and it is moisturizing and reduces the chance of me cutting myself while shaving.

4) After I am done shaving, I exfoliate again using the black soap and sea foam sponge. Then I spray some of Shea Moisture’s skin healing elixir on.

honey and black seed

Now let me tell you, this stuff is amazing. It truly does heal and protect. I must warn you though, it does burn but that is okay because that is what it is supposed to do. On the back of the bottle it says “Don’t be afraid of the tingle, it’s for your own good!” and it really is for your own good. Since using this I have not experienced an ingrown hair or razor bump. Not only does it take care of razor bumps and ingrown hairs it also helps with skin discoloration. I got this at Target for $7.99 and it is worth every single penny.  Oh, and it smells amazing!!

Just so you know, Shea Moisture products are made out of organic ingredients, cruelty free, and worth every single penny!

The process doesn’t take long and it is worth it when it comes to the health of my skin.

What items do you use for shaving?

5 thoughts on “From Shea Moisture: Black Soap & Skin Healing Elixir

  1. I needed something like this… I have been struggling with ingrown hair issues for a while and though I’ve been wanting to try the African black soap, I didn’t know it helped with that issue. Great post. thanks for sharing doll 🙂

    • Yes!!! Try it out 🙂

      I watched it and your UGG’s are cute!!! 😀 I rarely see people wearing them like that. They are usually the ones that seem to have no shape to them. I will leave a comment on the YouTube video though 🙂

Leave a Reply

