FOCUS

focus

This is true. I know that as soon as I think of something that I want to do, I start doubting myself. When I direct my focus with persistence and determination I am able to achieve things that I thought I wouldn’t be able to.

I was talking to my friend Karen of KP Says and she told me that the sacrifices I make now will allow me to be able to do what I want in the future. That advice resonated with me and I have heard it in my mind since she said it.

Right now, I am a mother, wife, and full time college student. I often times have thought to myself life would be so much easier if I just dropped out of school to go back to work. In reality, no life wouldn’t be easier. I wouldn’t progress and I would end up regretting it.  I love to learn, I crave to learn and with that knowledge I am going to achieve great things. I am willing to make whatever sacrifices I need to so that my family and I can have a better future.

I have always been one to look at life as a whole. Meaning, I realize that what I do and focus on right now is going to affect my future. For example, my husband’s family lives in New York City. We can’t go every year like we want to because it is financially unrealistic. Yes, it would be amazing to see them and for them to be able to see our son. But, bills don’t stop coming because you want to enjoy life. I know that in a few years when I graduate from college we will be able to see them once a year like we dream about.

This whole conversation started because Karen had a review of a Chanel lipstick she bought. I said “Splurging on makeup every once is awhile is okay right?” and she said “No, it’s not okay!”. I absolutely love when people are blunt and honest with me. Karen is older than me and when she was in her 20’s she made the necessary sacrifices so that she is able to travel where she wants and indulge in things that are high end.  At this point in MY life, no, it’s not okay for me to be splurging on makeup, clothes, or anything that is not a necessity. I need to remain focused on the bigger picture and that is eventually we will be able to go where we want and buy what we please. Right now, we are are making the necessary sacrifices so that we can do just that.

I felt the need to share this with you all of you because I feel like we live in a time where no one really does direct their focus. Everyone wants that instant gratification even if it does mean that they will go without necessities. I am grateful that I have the opportunity to go to school and be a full time mom. A lot of people would kill for that and I am not going to take it for granted. Funny, the lessons you learn from makeup…

So, what is your focus?

10 thoughts on “FOCUS

  1. Great post! A few years ago I was going through a rough patch with my health as well as a family crisis and my naturopath told me that I needed to focus on myself as I was useless to everyone if I wasn’t well. I thought that would be so selfish of me to want to focus on myself at such a crazy time, but I’ve learnt that that is the only way. Once you’re happy and focussed then everything else will fall into place xo

    • It is true! If you are not happy with yourself or doing things for yourself, you are no good to anyone around you. People don’t always realize that and they run themselves into the ground. I agree things are going well right now, but that is because I have switched my focus and have stayed focus!

  2. Etta, you are so wise beyond your years! Like you said, keep your eye on the brass ring, set your intention, and go for it! Time goes by so fast, and before you know it, you’ll be where you dreamed you’d be! I have all the faith in the world in you. And I know you are raising a boy who will become a great “man”. Love you so!

  3. You know, everything I’ve focussed on throughout my life just hasn’t worked out. But I know a very clever person who stayed focussed through university and landed himself his dream job, straight away! Right now I have no focus at all and I’m actually happy – weirdly! X

Leave a Reply

