Natural Hair Love

Learning to love the coils and kinks I have been blessed with…

What is natural hair?

When your hair is natural, it has not been processed by any chemicals to change the natural texture of your hair as it grows out of your head.

Why is going natural a big deal for me?

Growing up tightly coiled, kinky hair was not acceptable. I got made fun of a lot and people told me the only way to manage my hair would be to chop it off or put a chemical relaxer in it. After awhile, I got the idea in my head that my hair was not “good” hair. Everyone around me lead me to believe, and I followed like a fool, that the only way to make your hair beautiful was to have it chemically straightened.Β  No one tells you that chemically straightening your hair is going to cause your hair to break off. It is really hard on your hair. Don’t get me wrong, there are some ladies out there with some gorgeous chemically straightened hair and kudos to them. But for ME, relaxers were terrible. I suffered a lot of breakage and chemical burns because 1) I believed I need my hair to be straight to be pretty and 2) my hair does not “relax” like it should when you apply the chemical relaxer. In July of 2011, after 11 years of relaxers,Β  I decided I wasn’t going to get anymore relaxers and found someone to install a weave for me. It was all gravy for awhile and then…my edges started thinning out and my scalp hurt because the braids underneath the weave were so tight. You see, weave is supposed to be a protective style but it was doing more damage then protecting. So, I said to hell with it all and took the weave out and VOILA! here I am. I am learning to love and care for my coils and kinks and quite honestly, I have never been this in love with my hair. There is no such thing as good or bad hair. Hair is good as long as it is healthy!!

As I venture on this journey, I wanted to share with you things that make my hair feel Oh-So-Good.

After hearing so much about apple cider vinegar and how good it makes your hair feel, I decided to give it a go and see what all the fuss was about. Guess what? It made my hair feel so soft and my scalp felt so clean. What I love about the apple cider vinegar wash is that it cleanses your hair without stripping it. Shampoo, whether sulfate free or not, leaves my hair feeling stripped.

What does apple cider vinegar look like?

apple-cider-vinegar ready

I chose the Bragg brand of ACV because it was the most recommended by other naturalistas that I follow.Β  I know what you are thinking, why the heck would you put vinegar on your hair? Well, besides the fact that my scalp was itching like crazy and that I had too much product in my hair, here are some other benefits.

Benefits of ACV:

  • Clarifies hair by clearing up build up from hair and scalp
  • Helps balance the pH of your hair
  • Helps close hair cuticles, which in turn makes hair look shinier and feel smoother
  • If you have hard water, then it can help remove the buildup that comes from that as well
  • Can help relieve a dry,itchy scalp

There are so many benefits that come from using ACV. I, of course, am interested in what it can do for my hair! If you search “Benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar” you will find that people use it to boost their immune system, weight loss, working out, teeth whitening, etc. It really is a powerful and universal product.

Here is the recipe I used:

apple cider vinegar recipe

Now, you don’t have to use Bragg’s brand of ACV because there are a lot of other brands out there. I use the Bragg brand because it is organic and it was highly recommended by others. I didn’t use filtered water for the rinse because I didn’t have any on hand. If you prefer filtered water, then use it. If all you have is tap water, use it because you will still see great results.

I mix the items in a bowl and then I put it into an empty shampoo or conditioner bottle and then squeeze it onto my hair and scalp. If you can stand it, use cold water because it will help close the hair cuticles and increase the shine of your hair.

After using the ACV rinse my hair and scalp felt oh-so-good and I followed up with a deep conditioning treatment.

acv hair 4

acv hair 3

Have you tried an ACV rinse? What was your experience?

 

15 thoughts on “Natural Hair Love

  1. looking forward to trying ACV! Heard loads about it. Your natural hair is beautiful as you are. i have learnt people are quick to judge and criticise what they don’t understand. Beauty standards are forced on us from a young age and conforming is the norm. That doesn’t make you a fool. I am excited for this journey for you. What makes you truly beautiful is what is on the inside! xoxo

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      I have learned that as well. People fear what is different and they react in cruel ways sometimes. I agree, from the time we are young we are fed what is beautiful and what is not. I know it doesn’t make me a fool, but I felt like one. I am happy that I am taking the steps now to show off my natural hair and love it!! xo

  2. I think your natural hair is awesome!!! I hate how the world works, everyone wants to claim something is beautiful and something is not. If it makes you happy, then its beautiful.. and thats all there is to it. You rock that natural hair girl, it looks fantastic.

    I’m going to try the ACV rinse, it sounds like it would also be good for hair dye, I wish I had done this when I had that red.

  3. In my small country we have the thing called “Granny cures”, which are the most effective natural recipes of how to fix-your-everything. From hair to stains on your clothes. That thing with the vinegar I’ve known since I was a teenager, because vinegar helps my colored hair be more shiny and strong ever since I started coloring it πŸ™‚
    Recently I started getting back to these recipes, because they are part of my heritage and I would love to keep them and pass them on to my children πŸ™‚
    For example, you might know this, if you burn yourself you can put either baking soda or honey on the burned place and it will cool off very quickly and not make a bubble πŸ˜‰ Awesome trick that works everytime!
    P.S. – You have AMAZING hair and you should be very proud with that!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

