Clothing, Pregnancy, and Organizing

Pregnancy is not the end of your style…

clothes

In all honesty, at about 11 weeks my normal clothes started to irritate me. I knew I would soon be buying maternity clothes but before I even went out and bought a new maternity wardrobe (I don’t suggest doing that) I took a peek in my closet.

I thought of some tips that will help you sift through your closet and decide what you want to do with your clothing.

Go through your closet. If you have not worn it in a year chances are you will probably not being wearing it this year either. There were a lot of items in my closet that were just sitting there looking pretty. I made a pile to give away and a pile to sell on my Threadflip account. There were a few pairs of shoes and a couple of shirts and dresses that I wanted to sell because the items were only worn once. The items I chose to give away are gently used items that need to go to someone who will actually use them.

Pregnancy is not the end of your style. Please do not get this idea that pregnant women cannot be fashionable, because we can be! There are plenty of affordable,stylish maternity clothes for mamas to be.

Some of your current tops may fit you throughout your pregnancy. I have quite a few loose fitting or strechy tops hanging in my closet that I find comfortable enough to wear while I am pregnant. I am always about comfort but even more so now that I am growing a human. Go through your closet and decide on which items you may be able to wear throughout your pregnancy. None of my jeans fit, but I have quite a few tops and dresses I will continue to wear.

Don’t assume you will never get back to your pre-pregnancy size. Don’t go giving away or selling your pre-pregnancy clothes because you are now pregnant! Chances are you will fit back into your most comfy pre-pregnancy jeans quicker than you think.

Space bags are an awesome way to store your pre-pregnancy clothes. I don’t like a lot of clutter, especially in my room. I would rather have something look almost bare instead of fill it with a bunch of unneeded items. After going through my closet and getting rid of stuff I won’t ever wear again I put the stuff I will wear after the baby comes into space bags.

What the heck is a space bag?

20140510_133324

I found a few boxes of space bags at home depot on clearance for $3 and that I would give them a try. You can really use space bags for just about anything but I use them for clothes because obviously I have a shopping problem. I honestly buy more clothes than I do makeup, shocking right?!

You can put a whole seasons wardrobe into an extra large space bag and it will deduce it to this:

20140510_133300

All you need is a vacum to the suck the air out an you can store it almost anywhere. I just store mine underneath my bed because I am not a fan of totes. However, if I were to store them in the garage or attic then I would put the space bag in a tote first.

20140510_143312

Keep in mind that these tips can be used for organizing your room as well. Trust me, it’s really easy. I am a walking contradiction because I don’t like clutter but I am not an organized person when it comes things such as my closet. Find an organizational method that you like can help you become organized which is what I am doing!

How do you organize and store your clothing?

One thought on “Clothing, Pregnancy, and Organizing

  1. Truth be told – I miss being pregnant. I enjoyed the style and attention I had. It was fun flaunting the curves. I didn’t store anything at all, but just kept it in there as a reminder that I will one day go back to pre-baby weight. For now, I am contemplating when to go back to my cardio routine to get back in shape. Maternity fashion is super cute and Ioved it.

Leave a Reply

