Coastal Scents 120 Palette Five: Is it worth it?

Affordable, but is it even worth the low investment?

I bought the Coastal Scents 120 palette earlier this year. I was excited about this palette because I got 120 shimmer and matte colors for under $20. I can’t remember exactly how much I paid for it but I know I didn’t pay any more than $20 for it. Coastal Scents is always having a sell on their products, you just have to watch out for them and get them while they are on sale!

120 palette 3

There are five 120 palettes offered by Coastal Scents and each palette has a different variety of colors. I chose five because it had a good mix of neutrals and neons. Some days I like to wear bright looks and other days I like to tone it down.

120 palette

20140518_122844

20140518_122850

The palette obviously has a nice range of colors and who doesn’t love a mix of shimmer and matte shadows?

Love:

  • Matte and shimmer together
  • I have choices
  • I can mix colors
  • The palette itself is compact enough to carry around in a bag
  • It is affordable
  • Shipping was fast

Loathe:

  • The matte colors have no pigmentation at all. Don’t believe me?

120 palette 2

I really thought it would only be a few of the matte colors that didn’t have pigmentation but all of them have either no pigmentation or the pigment is very visible. I even tried using primer and eyeshadow base and it didn’t make a difference in how well it showed up on my skin.

30 of the colors in the palette are matte and the rest are a satiny shimmer. Do I think it’s worth the investment?

Quality over quantity!! If I invest any amount of money into something I expect to get what is in the product description. The shimmer colors were rich with pigment but the matte colors are clearly lacking. My suggestion is to save your money. I don’t like spending money on something that doesn’t deliver all of what it is described to be. I will still use the shimmer colors but I can’t get the matte colors to show up if my life depended on it. I am not sure if it is my skin tone or if it is just the eyeshadow itself. I have another matte palette that I love (Stila “In the Know” palette) and all of the colors show up on my skin. If I do order from Coastal Scents in the future I will stay clear of their matte colors.

Do you love any products from Coastal Scents?

5 thoughts on “Coastal Scents 120 Palette Five: Is it worth it?

  1. I think I commented on twitter/IG, but I have the shimmer palette. I’ve never tried matte formulas from them. They really are lacking aren’t they? I have several of their brushes, and have no complaints about those either. But on the bright side, you did get some gorgeous shimmers! I know they’re hard to use without mattes though 😦

Leave a Reply

