Flats Handwashing Challenge – Why am I participating?

Every child, regardless of socioeconomic status, deserves to have clean diapers.

image

Awhile ago, I had touched on taking the blog in a new direction and sharing more areas of my life with you. That starts, right now!!

J is 6 months old and we started using cloth diapers on him when he was about 4 weeks old. At first, I must admit, I was intimidated with all the options. However, I joined different Facebook groups and found other helpful mamas who were willing to share there advice and experiences. Our diaper collection slowly started growing until we had a little bit of everything. Or so I thought.

I had yet to try flat diapers. I had heard plenty of amazing things about flat diapers. When Dirty Diaper Laundry blogged about the Handwashing Flats Challenge, I knew I had to join for a few reasons.

image

1) Every child deserves to have a clean diaper. There are families who are unable to afford disposable diapers. Since they cannot afford them, they reuse them. No child should ever have to experience that and no parent should ever have to choose between food, bills, or diapers. You can read about families reusing disposable diapers Here

image

2) I have been wanting to simplify my son’s diaper stash. My son has a lot of diapers. I like the simplicity of flat diapers. It is so easy to buy all the diapers and try them all but I am learning simple is better. I was wasting too much time trying to find “the next best thing” when what I already had worked for him.

3) You can afford to cloth diaper, even on a minimal budget. I was able to pick up a set of 4 flour sack towels (version of flats) for $3.99. You can also cloth diaper for free using old t-shirts and even receiving blankets.

I hope that you are looking forward to this week as much as me. I want to be able to share this with you and inspire you to give cloth a try or at least teach you something new!

Up Next:

What does my diaper stash look like?

4 thoughts on “Flats Handwashing Challenge – Why am I participating?

  1. We’re actually considering switching back to flats too. They dry so much quicker, they are cheap and I think just simpler all around.

    • I have been back and forth about selling his other diapers. I have realized that I reach for the flats first and then, if I have to, I will use his more “fancy diapers”. I am working on switching him over to only natural fibers.

      • I stopped using them after 6 weeks to try some other types. Now that I feel I’ve tried and tested loads, I find myself drawn back to flats. Will keep some AIOs and probably move back. Microfibre is just awful, and smelly

Leave a Reply

